ANZAC Day

A  big week of firsts.

On Thursday I had the opportunity to attend a combined schools ANZAC Service which was hosted by the local RSL.  It was mostly primary aged children who attended and also participated in key roles.  I was so proud to see all 12 schools represented behave with appropriate respect so I am encouraged knowing that the legacy will live on.

I must admit that I had a tear or two in my eye listening to a school choir performing this song to commemorate the ANZACS of World War 1. Commissioned by the WA Primary Schools’ Massed Choir Festival 2014. Words and music by Glyn Lehmann, vocals by Jocelyn Campbell. The Green Hills of Albany.

A couple of photos from this service.

Lest We Forget

IMG_2372

GetAttachment.aspx

My other first was to attend my first dawn service.  I can’t believe I’ve never been to one before and now I know I will never miss another one again.  It’s so haunting with dawn breaking beginning a new day and you have the opportunity to reflect on the souls that will never return home to their families.  Sons and daughters the same age as my children now, going of to fight in a war in a strange land under unimaginable conditions.

Lest We Forget

GetAttachment.aspx

GetAttachment.aspx

With a quick trip home for a caffeine fix we then caught the train in to the city (Perth) for the March.  I was again moved with the pure numbers of our service men and woman marching but you then can’t help but reflect on the ones whose age has caught up on them and those who ‘shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old’.

Lest We Forget

DSC_8952

DSC_8967

DSC_8982

This is my stepfather with his son along with his little boy who walked all the way!  My two nieces also marched.  They were all so happy to be with their Poppie.

DSC_8993

We stayed for the official service which was highlighted by an address by David Singer who served with the Australian Army in Afghanistan.  This young man spoke with amazing eloquence showing respect to those he served with and of those who served before him.  The crowd showed their respect to his words with a standing ovation.  I had tears rolling down my face.  I wish I could find a copy of his address from today.  I have found this news article about him instead.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/25988969/rsl-got-digger-on-road-in-civvy-street/

This is my family who attended the March and Service.
DSC_9156

These are John’s service medals.

DSC_9127

The Service concluded with the release of 1,023 red helium balloons synchronised with the ringing of the Swan Bells to commemorate the 1,023 West Australians who died at Gallipoli.  And that was on Gallipoli, not including those who lost their lives at battles.

LEST WE FORGET

Leave a Reply

