Depressed or Just Sad?

Watch this amazing young man, Kevin Breel, who describes what depression looks like, feels like.  I love his passion and urgent want to remove the stigma that surrounds mental illness but more specifically, depression and all that comes in this neat little package that follows you around just like a cute little puppy.  But in fact it isn’t a cute little puppy at all.

An analogy used often to describe depression is that if you had a broken leg or broken arm, people can see that you’re doing it tough and may even want to sign your cast.  Mental illness, specifically depression, you can’t see it on the surface. It’s just there buried in that organ of yours called a brain.

This is an excerpt from Kevin’s talk which really resonated with me.

“The fact that you just can’t physically get yourself up out a bed each day, that you have lost all hope that your life has value, that you are worth it to someone is not a ‘just snap out of it’ illness.  Yes that’s right, it’s an actual illness where you at your worst can feel like you’re buried deep down in a pit and can’t get yourself out of.  

I hate some of the places, some of the parts of my life depression has dragged me down to, in a lot of ways I’m grateful for it. Because yeah, it’s put me in the valleys, but only to show me there’s peaks, and yeah it’s dragged me through the dark but only to remind me there is light. My pain, more than anything in 19 years on this planet, has given me perspective, and my hurt, my hurt has forced me to have hope, have hope and to have faith, faith in myself, faith in others, faith that it can get better, that we can change this, that we can speak up and speak out and fight back against ignorance, fight back against intolerance, and more than anything, learn to love ourselves, learn to accept ourselves for who we are, the people we are, not the people the world wants us to be. Because the world I believe in is one where embracing your light doesn’t mean ignoring your dark. The world I believe in is one where we’re measured by our ability to overcome adversities, not avoid them. The world I believe in is one where I can look someone in the eye and say, “I’m going through hell,” and they can look back at me and go, “Me too,” and that’s okay, and it’s okay because depression is okay. We’re people. We’re people, and we struggle and we suffer and we bleed and we cry, and if you think that true strength means never showing any weakness, then I’m here to tell you you’re wrong. You’re wrong, because it’s the opposite. We’re people, and we have problems. We’re not perfect, and that’s okay.”

There is HOPE!

hope_hold_on_pain_ends-215114

Thank you so much for taking a small part of your day to read this blog post.

2 thoughts on “Depressed or Just Sad?

  1. donna1008 says:

    Yes Tracey, I love his honesty but the fact that he is positive at the same time. Depression is bloody hard but there is recovery, there is light at the end of that very long dark tunnel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

